How To Read Our Olfactive Pyramids

We made our olfactive pyramids as easy as possible to read.

A fragrance is made of top, heart and base notes.

Top notes are the first ones you'll smell when spraying a scent. Those are usually sparkling and vibrant like grapefruit, bergamotte or black pepper notes and may last up to 2 hours depending on the ingredients. If we were to compare a fragrance to 'love at first sight' then that would be just it! The base notes are indicated on top of our crystal shaped pyramid with time frame '0 - 2 hr'.

Heart notes appear after 1 to 2 hours and usually last longer. More well-rounded and complex, they reveal a fragrance true signature. Like after a few drinks on a date, now you know for sure what you're in for ;) Heart notes might be floral or fruity, like ginger or orris for instance, and will last a maximum of 4 hours. The heart notes are indicated as a second bloc on our olfactive pyramid with time frame '2 - 4 hr'.

Base notes happen after top notes have completely evaporated, usually more than 4 hours after spraying. They mix with the heart notes to create the ever lating fragrance impression. These often rich and indulgent notes last on your skin and make sure your fragrance sitcks with you for the day. These are typically woods, or gourmand notes for instance, like patchouli or vetiver. Base notes are indicated at the bottom of our crystal shaped olfactive pyramid with '4 - 12 hr' time frame.

To learn more about our fragrances, head here.

Go to the UK / EU site.